top of page

Mental well-being, my cat and me

Updated: Apr 20, 2021

Those of us who suffer from any form of mental illness constantly look for some sort of respite. Sure, there’s medication and psychotherapy which work wonders.

But what about the other stuff? When there’s no energy in us to speak of, when nothing is interesting anymore. When there’s despair. What then?


As par for the course, we need to work (pay bills, buy food), even though each minute is excruciatingly painful for some of us. What then? What about mental well-being?

Well, I have my cat. Gorgy. I’ve spoken about him here before but it was only until now that I realised how stubbornly affectionate he tends to be. I shoo him away. Yell (yes, sometimes I yell) at him to just get out of my face. I’m just too drained to deal with him. Bless him.


But there he is again. Always and relentlessly returning to my lap. And the amazing thing is that his warmth is the best thing I could ask for in the vulnerable states I find myself in. Go figure.



He needs to show his love in his face own mulish way. He needs to show me he cares and that he’s there keeping tabs.




So how can I resist when he’s that very respite I so long for and need. How can I be so blind and insensitive? He wants to give me all the love he can, and I try to push him away.





The moral of the story isn’t for all of us to go out and get a cat.

When we’re hurting, and sometimes the pain is unbearable, I look for the little respites. The unexpected, unnoticed elements that surround us. – Looking for bits and pieces of wellness where I can find them.

This is mental well-being when you’re in the storm.

I put on comfy, fluffy clothes to stay at home. Sorry – no pics of that! I wrap myself with a soft blanket. I wear my favourite cap in the house. I watch cat reels. I use my punching bag – yeah, I have one in my room. I watch TV series I’ve watched before. – Comforting somehow. I wear my favourite perfume, even if it’s just for myself. Colouring sometimes helps if I have the wherewithal. It’s difficult when your brain is zapped. I drink copious cups of tea. I have plants. I eat chocolate and cake. Ice cream never fails! I buy lovely smelling soap. I put on makeup. My favourite red lipstick. I ask for hugs (where possible given the present circumstances). I force myself to carry out these small tasks. All with a view to promote mental wellness as much as I can. Everyone has their own rituals. Each of has their own “wellness kit”. We just need to

drum up the energy to use it. Wouldn’t we feel better for it?


Kudos to those of us in search of mental wellness. It’s an arduous road. It’s not easy. I know. But the morsels we gain when we do these small things for ourselves are priceless. They’re our own coping mechanisms. I prefer having a morsel of wellness – no matter how fleeting – than nothing at all.


I’m still learning some of the ins and outs of what goes on in my psyche. I’m sure most of us are.

So if I’m honest, truly, a pet works wonders. But if that’s not your thing, try and look for the little things. They matter. I know they do.


It’s the little things that end up bringing us that those bits of comfort. I know from myself anyway.

And an important reminder: there may be one or more ‘Gorgy’ people in your life too. Willing to give you the comfort you need. Just don’t shoo them away just as I had tried with Gorgy. The benefits are far too great. We need the ‘Gorgies’ in our lives. Whether they’re human, feline or canine.


And as always, this too shall pass






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page