top of page

Do we need our pets?

I do.


Depression is the predominant mental health problem worldwide, followed by anxiety, schizophrenia and bipolar disorder.


I know I’m not alone in admitting that when I’m not myself my pets provide a sense of comfort not found elsewhere. And by pets I mean any species. In my case it’s my black cat.


How does your pet help you?

I have one ultra-sensitive cat who won’t leave my side if I’m either physically or psychologically unwell. His presence is the soothing therapeutic remedy I need. I’m never alone. He knows exactly what cuddles to give and when I need him. He is omnipresent. He gives me smiles when I think it’s utterly impossible to do so. He grounds me. Yes, a cat does all that. He just knows.


And yet. under normal circumstances he’s outside, basking in the sunshine, without a care in the world, being the feline he is.


The benefits of having pets have been discussed ad nauseam. There’s really no disputing it.

However, there’s the other facet. Animal welfare. There are the five internationally recognised pillars of animal welfare:


  1. Freedom from thirst and hunger (food and water)

  2. Freedom from fear and distress (love and understanding)

  3. Freedom from discomfort (shelter)

  4. Freedom from pain, injury and disease (medical care)

  5. Freedom to behave naturally (natural behaviour)


So for the most part we do provide our pets with all these conditions.

Science has also proven that animals feel and have their own unique perceptions.


So my question is:

What kind of welfare do our pets give us in return?

Freedom from loneliness?

Freedom from tedium?

Freedom to laugh?

Freedom to have snuggles?

Freedom to experience love?

Maybe it’s open-ended, but I bet most of you would know exactly how to answer this.


And as ever, this too shall pass.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page